Responsibilities of County Officers






Section 1.


A. The elective Officers of this Local Unit shall be: President; Vice President; Secretary; Treasurer.


B. The Local Unit shall have the option to combine the offices of Secretary and Treasurer.


Section 2.


All Officers shall be elected for a term of one year, except that by a two-thirds vote of the members, longer terms may be permitted, provided that no terms shall exceed three years.


Section 3.


The President shall be responsible for the supervision of all activities of the Local Unit and shall enforce compliance with the National and State Constitution and Bylaws. The President shall preside at all meetings and shall be entitled to one vote on all matters voted on by secret ballot.


Section 4.


The Vice President shall serve in the absence of the President.


Section 5.


A. The Secretary shall be responsible for handling of finances, reports and correspondence relating thereto, and shall establish an approved accounting and record-keeping system for both finances and Local Unit membership rolls.


B. The Secretary shall make a report at each regular meeting of all monies received and expended, report on all official correspondence, and shall file any necessary governmental reports.


Section 6.


The Treasurer shall make a report at each meeting of all monies received and expended, and shall deposit all monies as directed by the Local Unit under the name of the Unit. The Treasurer shall pay all properly incurred and itemized bills.


Section 7.


The elected Officers shall act for the Local Unit in the absence of an Executive Board.

(reference Constitution and Bylaws of the National Rural Letter Carriers’ Association)

© 2020 by Illinois Rural Letter Carriers' Association. All Rights Reserved.